Re-energizing

I don’t normally do two posts in a day (gosh, sometimes it’s hard to get just one post out in a week!), but a post on the Artist’s Road blog today was encouraging and inspiring.

Patrick Ross has a great blog, and his blog post today was on how to re-engage with your creative work in progress after time away.  It was encouraging because it was good to see that he and many others have the same challenges and face the same distractions and diversions.  It’s hard to carve out the time to write or review a work in progress when there are so many other demands on our time: work, tasks and chores around the house, family time and activities (which are the most important!), and other “life” things.  Months of putting the final touches on my winery guide, then formatting it and getting it out the door, then working on advertising it (which I should have started doing much earlier than I did) meant that my to-do list of projects around the house has grown to a depressing length. Right now, I’m trying to balance out working on my new project with finding time to do all those things that really, truly need to be done at home.

But Patrick’s post and the comments from other writers and bloggers were inspiring.  They had many good ideas for getting re-engaged, for rekindling one’s muse and inspiration, for just focusing on writing and creating.

My two biggest personal challenges are that writing a work of fiction is kind of intimidating for me.  Non-fiction, no problem.  Fiction — well, that’s another issue altogether.  Maybe this part all comes down to confidence in my abilities and belief in my story, and the only way to resolve that is to actually keep writing.  That’s where the inspiration came in today.  The blog post and all the comments on it inspired me to get up and go to my little work room and start tackling my project again.

The other challenge is that I’m an introvert who is also a manager at work, which means I often interact quite a bit with others during the day.  Now, don’t get me wrong — most of them are fabulous people and I often enjoy the time we spend together.  But, truth be told, not always.  On days when the interaction has been intense and not so rewarding, I come home feeling drained, like all the synapses in my brain have been fried.  On those days, it’s tough to work on my new book or post on my winery guide’s Facebook page or do much of anything except veg out.

Today was one of those days.  But reading Patrick’s post and the wonderful comments that others shared were energizing.  So thanks to all of you!

Leave a comment

Filed under On Writing

Leave a Reply

